Vegan Meringues – 2p each

Oh yes, you read that title properly.

When I was writing my post about what to do with things you’d normally chuck out, Claire mentioned that it was hypothetically possible to make meringues out of the water from canned legumes (i.e. chickpeas, beans etc. – though I’m not 100% sure it’d work with canned lentils.)

Since I was having beans for dinner that night, I absolutely had to try it. This is the tutorial/recipe I used. And it was a can of harricot beans which I drained.

12
13

14

15
The texture was absolutely perfect. I mean, these are actually the best meringues I’ve ever made in terms of crunch and chew. And taste wise? I don’t really like meringues so I’m not the best judge, however Mum and Husband assure me they taste just like regular ones, but with an ever-so-slight savoury undertone. When I did try a little – for science! – I think this would have been negated by actually using the vanilla essence suggested by the recipe. I also think that in place of egg whites in other recipes – like Beacon Hill Cookies, for example – you wouldn’t notice a difference at all.

These are actually the perfect desert (you know, unless you’re like me and aren’t a meringue fan) 🙂 They’re vegan, gluten free, fat free and cheap. They use up something you’d usually throw away. From now on, I’ll definitely be trying legume-water in place of egg white in loads of recipes, so expect the vegan baking section on here to fill slightly quicker than it might have done otherwise!

Hope you’re having a great weekend – what’s cooking at your house? 😉

— Farn ❤

3 thoughts on “Vegan Meringues – 2p each

Leave a Reply

